University of the Punjab, Lahore

University of the Punjab (commonly known as Punjab University and thus abbreviated as PU too), is located in Lahore, Punjab. It is the oldest and biggest University of Pakistan which was established by the British Colonial Authorities in 1882. Overall it was the 4th university to be established by the British in the undivided India and the 1st in the western part (now Pakistan). The first three universities established by the British rulers were at their political strongholds of Calcutta, Bombay, and Madras.

National University of Sciences and Technology

National University of Sciences and Technology (NUST) is a public sector university chartered in 1993 that was formed by merging the already established military institutes and colleges. It is a multi-school co-educational university with headquarters in Islamabad (relocated from Rawalpindi in 2008). It has schools and affiliated institutes all over the country in the cities of Karachi, Rawalpindi and Risalpur (campuses are listed below) These affiliated institutions are in fact the training institutes for the manpower of the defense forces of Pakistan.

Pir Mehr Ali Shah Arid Agriculture University, Rawalpindi

PMAS Arid Agriculture University, Rawalpindi was established in 1970 by the Government of Punjab as an agricultural college for the development and teaching of rain-fed agriculture, which was later upgraded as a university in 1994. The university was primarily only know as Arid Agriculture University, Rawalpindi which was later on renamed as Pir Mehar Ali Shah Arid Agriculture University, Rawalpindi (abbreviated as PMAS AAUR) in the memory of the late saint of Golra Sharif Islamabad (named Pir Mehar Ali Shah).

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...