National University of Sciences and Technology

National University of Sciences and Technology (NUST) is a public sector university chartered in 1993 that was formed by merging the already established military institutes and colleges. It is a multi-school co-educational university with headquarters in Islamabad (relocated from Rawalpindi in 2008). It has schools and affiliated institutes all over the country in the cities of Karachi, Rawalpindi and Risalpur (campuses are listed below) These affiliated institutions are in fact the training institutes for the manpower of the defense forces of Pakistan.

Degree Programs offered in NUST

NUST offers undergraduate and postgraduate degrees leading to Ph.D in the fields of engineering, information technology, management sciences and medical sciences. Its programs are accredited by the Pakistan Engineering Council and approved by the Higher Education Commission. In 2009, NUST ranked 350th best University in the world  according to THES World University Rankings. It is also the only Pakistani university among the top 100 Asian universities (QS Ranking, 2011).

A landmark achievement of the university  is its launch of Pakistan's fastest GPU (Graphics Processing Unit) based parallel computing system operating in any organisation / academic institution in Pakistan till date.

NUST Campuses:

The University's main campus is at Islamabad. Other Campuses include:
  • Army Medical College, Rawalpindi
  • Military College of Signals, Rawalpindi
  • Military College of Engineering, Risalpur
  • Pakistan Navy Engineering College, Karachi
  • College of Aeronautical Engineering, Risalpur
  • College of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering, Rawalpindi
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...