University of the Punjab, Lahore

University of the Punjab (commonly known as Punjab University and thus abbreviated as PU too), is located in Lahore, Punjab. It is the oldest and biggest University of Pakistan which was established by the British Colonial Authorities in 1882. Overall it was the 4th university to be established by the British in the undivided India and the 1st in the western part (now Pakistan). The first three universities established by the British rulers were at their political strongholds of Calcutta, Bombay, and Madras.

Historical Preview of Punjab University, Lahore:

The main campus of the university is known as Allama Iqbal Campus which came into existence due to a long drawn struggle of the people of Punjab after the 1857 war. Prof Dr GW Leitner was the founder of the university. The University of Punjab was right from the beginning a teaching as well as examining body whereas the three previously established universities were only examining institutions. Since its establishment in 1882 till the division of the Indo-Pak subcontinent in 1947, the University served the educational needs of the entire sub-continent. Among its first affiliated colleges were Mohindra College, Patiala (in 1882) and St. Stephen's College, Delhi. The partition of the sub-continent in 1947 reduced the geographical jurisdiction of the university.

Many affiliated institutions of the university in the recent past have now become independent universities, for example Government College University and Medical and Engineering Colleges. The list of presently affiliated colleges of the university is available below at the end.

Facts about Punjab University:

Punjab University being the oldest and economical university remains a priority for students to pursue their education, so a large number of students from all over the country attend the university as Private Candidates too. The University has 4 Campuses, 13 Faculties, 10 Constituent Colleges, nearly 63 Departments, Centers, Institutes and 500+ affiliated colleges. It has about 730 permanent faculty members and over 30,000 regular students. Annually about 450,000 students from all the affiliated institutes and the university itself appear in the exams.

Faculties of PU:

  • Arts and Humanities
  • Behavioral and Social Sciences
  • Commerce
  • Economics and Management Sciences
  • Education
  • Engineering and Technology
  • Law
  • Islamic Studies
  • Life Sciences
  • Medicine and Dentistry
  • Oriental Learning
  • Pharmacy
  • Science

 Punjab University's Campuses:

 Affiliated Colleges:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...